Penske Racing
Team Penske Media Site
IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship
Home | About IMSA | IMSA News | Schedule | Nick Tandy | Mathieu Jaminet | Matt Campbell | Felipe Nasr

Following an historical season for Team Penske, North America’s most successful race team is ready to embark on some new challenges and add to its legacy of success in 2023.

For the first time in its storied history, Team Penske captured both the NASCAR Cup Series championship, as well as the NTT INDYCAR SERIES title in 2022. In a year that included the organization’s third triumph in Daytona 500, last season was truly a year to remember for Team Penske. Returning with three teams competing in both the NASCAR Cup Series and the NTT INDYCAR SERIES in 2023, Team Penske is ready for another title run. The organization is also excited about the debut of its newest racing program – Porsche Penske Motorsport (PPM) – which will feature two full-season sports car entries racing in both the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship as well as the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) this season.

In the Cup Series, Joey Logano and the No. 22 Ford Mustang team produced their second championship last season and the 22 crew looks to successfully defend its crown in 2023. Logano posted four victories on his way to the title last season, including a dramatic triumph in the season finale at Phoenix to wrap up the title. With Logano and veteran championship crew chief Paul Wolfe once again teaming up to lead the way, more success could be on the horizon for the No. 22 Ford team.

Ryan Blaney, Austin Cindic and Joey Logano are all looking to make a run in the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs this season
Ryan Blaney, Austin Cindric and Joey Logano all earned a spot in the NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs before Blaney claimed Team Penske's fourth series title.

For the sixth consecutive season, Ryan Blaney finished inside the top 10 in Cup Series championship points in 2022. Blaney returns behind the wheel of the No. 12 Ford Mustang in 2023 as he eyes another strong run in the NASCAR Playoffs and strives to claim his first series championship. After helping Blaney earn a career-high 12 top-five finishes in his debut season as crew chief of the No. 12 team, Jonathan Hassler hopes Blaney and his crew can take the next step toward a title in 2023.  

It was a fantastic freshman Cup Series season for Austin Cindric in 2022 as the former NASCAR Xfinity Series champion left his mark in the record book as the first rookie racer to win the Daytona 500. Cindric continued to produce after the dynamic debut as he drove the No. 2 Ford Mustang team into the Playoffs and wound up finishing 12th in the final series standings. Jeremy Bullins served as Cindric’s guiding hand as crew chief of the No. 2 team and the duo will work to produce sustained sophomore success for the team this season.

Last season, the Team Penske trio of Will Power, Josef Newgarden and Scott McLaughlin claimed three of the top four positions in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship standings. It was a dominant season for the team with the three racers winning nine of the 17 events on the series calendar. With experienced crews and proven drivers behind the wheel, the three Team Penske teams have high hopes for another strong season in 2023.

Will Power, Scott McLaughlin and Josef Newgarden are all championship contenders for the 2023 INDYCAR SERIES title
Will Power, Scott McLaughlin and Josef Newgarden all proved to be championship contenders for the NTT INDYCAR SERIES title in 2023.

Power continues to produce at a high level as he enters his 19th INDYCAR season. Not only did he claim his second series championship with the No. 12 Chevrolet team, Power posted at least one race victory for his 16th consecutive season and he surpassed living legend Mario Andretti for the most pole positions (68) in INDYCAR history in the 2022 season finale. The crafty Australian racer looks to continue his assault on the all-time records this season as he is once again paired with longtime race engineer Dave Faustino while the team looks to defend its title with the No. 12 Chevrolet-powered Dallara in 2023.

Newgarden, a two-time INDYCAR champion, led all racers with five victories last season and he finished as series runner up for the third consecutive year. Since joining Team Penske in 2017, the native of Nashville, Tenn., has finished either first or second in the championship five out of the last six years. Paired with new race engineer Luke Mason on the No. 2 Chevrolet team beginning in 2023, Newgarden is focused on claiming his first Indianapolis 500 victory and winning his third INDYCAR title this season.

In his second season of INDYCAR racing, McLaughlin enjoyed a breakout year behind the wheel of the No. 3 Chevy. The New Zealand native and former Supercars champ produced three race victories and battled for the championship down to the final race before finishing fourth in the standings. McLaughlin has developed great chemistry with race engineer Ben Bretzman and the duo plan to build on the momentum from last season in pursuit of their first title together in 2023.

Porsche Penske Motorsport ushers in a new era this season with a global partnership that carries on the historical sports car alliance between Team Penske and Porsche. The two entities that have enjoyed so much success together across different sports car series in the past will begin a new quest in 2023 with the new LMDh hybrid Prototype competing in both IMSA and WEC.

Porsche Penske Motorsport makes its debut in 2023 with the No. 7 and No. 6 LMDh cars in IMSA and two full-season entries in WEC
Porsche Penske Motorsport made its debut in 2023 with the No. 7 and No. 6 LMDh cars in IMSA and two full-season WEC entries

In the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, PPM will race with both the No. 6 and No. 7 Porsche 963 entries in the new GTP class. Veteran winning racer Nick Tandy returns to Porsche in 2023 and he will be teamed up with Frenchman Mathieu Jaminet to compete in the No. 6 car this season. Experienced sports car champion Dane Cameron will join the No. 6 lineup for the IMSA endurance races. The No. 7 Porsche 963 will be driven by former IMSA champion Felipe Nasr and established Australian racer Matt Campbell with Denmark’s Michael Christensen providing support for the endurance events.

Racing with two full-season entries in WEC, including the 100th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June, PPM will bring a talented lineup to the grid of international races. Cameron, Christensen and Frederic Makowiecki of France will race the No. 5 Porsche 963, while the No. 6 car will race with Frenchman Kevin Estre, Andre Lotterer of Germany and Belgium’s Laurens Vanthoor behind the wheel.

Across all levels of competition, Team Penske features championship-level experience in both the garage and on pit lane, paired with great production and promise on the track. Ready to build on the tradition of over 600 race wins, 670 pole positions and 43 championships, the 2023 season promises to bring great excitement and opportunity for all of Team Penske’s race teams, partners and fans.