Penske Racing
Team Penske Media Site
The Indianapolis 500
Home | The Team Penske Legacy | Wins/Poles | Laps Led | Competition Record | Pit Stop Competition | Evolution of a Dynasty

Pit Stop Competition

Newgarden Pit Stop Team
The No. 2 Team Penske Chevrolet team and driver Josef Newgarden earned Team Penske's record 18th victory in the annual Pit Stop competition in 2022.

Since the inception of the Pit Stop Competition at the Indianapolis 500 in 1977, Team Penske has been crowned Champion a record 19 times, including nine of the last 13 seasons that the event has been held as part of Indy 500 activities.

Three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves and the crew of the No. 3 Team Penske car won their ninth overall Pit Stop Competition in 2016.

In 2011, Briscoe and his Team recorded a pit stop of 7.882 seconds, the fastest time ever in the finals of the competition.

Team Penske’s most memorable performances in the Indy Pit Stop Competition include five wins that preceded race victories — in 1981 with Bobby Unser, in 1985 with Danny Sullivan, in 2002 and 2009 with Castroneves and in 2024 with Josef Newgarden.

1981 Bobby Unser Laurie Gerrish 13.000 seconds
1982 Rick Mears Peter Parrott 13.930 seconds
1983 Rick Mears Peter Parrott 13.860 seconds
1985 Danny Sullivan Chuck Sprague 11.742 seconds
1986 Danny Sullivan Chuck Sprague 20.288 seconds
1988 Danny Sullivan Chuck Sprague 14.782 seconds
2002 Helio Castroneves Rick Rinaman 8.555 seconds
2005 Sam Hornish Jr. Matt Jonsson 8.9704 seconds
2006 Helio Castroneves Rick Rinaman 8.0825 seconds
2007 Helio Castroneves Rick Rinaman 8.335 seconds
2009 Helio Castroneves Rick Rinaman 7.962 seconds
2010 Helio Castroneves Sean Hanrahan 8.001 seconds
Ryan Briscoe
Matt Jonsson
7.882 seconds*
2013Helio CastronevesSean Hanrahan10.107 seconds
2015Helio CastronevesTravis Law12.561 seconds
2016Helio CastronevesTravis Law12.235 seconds
2017Will PowerMatt Jonsson11.619 seconds
2022Josef NewgardenTravis Law10.949 seconds
2024Josef NewgardenChad Gordon10.792 seconds

* Record for best time in Pit Stop Competition Finals