Penske Racing
Team Penske Media Site
The Power File
Home | Biography | Up-Close | Career Highlights | Firsts/Wins/Poles | Series Total By Season | 2021 Stats | Race-By-Race Results | Team Members

Will Power

Will Power 2019As he continues his high level of production in his 17th season competing in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES in 2021, Will Power is aiming for a record-breaking year for Team Penske. Power supplemented his impressive career totals after another solid season in the No. 12 Verizon Dallara/Chevrolet in 2020 and he enters this season with a chance to further add to his legacy as one of INDYCAR's all-time great drivers.

With a pair of victories in 2020, Power extended his streak of winning seasons in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES to 14 consecutive years. He enters this season with 39 career wins, tied for fifth place on the all-time victory list with Al Unser, Sr. After winning five poles in 2020, Power opens the year with 62 career poles - just five shy of tying Mario Andretti for the most in INDYCAR history. Power also ranks inside the top-10 all-time INDYCAR drivers in most laps led entering the season.

Racing in his 12th season with Team Penske, the 39-year-old Power showed no signs of slowing down during the 2020 season. Overcoming the challenges of a season impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, he and the No. 12 team claimed seven top-10 finishes and five podium results to finish fifth in the series standings - the 11th consecutive year that Power has produced a top-five championship season. Power posted wins during doubleheader weekends at Mid-Ohio and in the Harvest Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. This season, the 2014 series champion will pursue a second series title and second Indianapolis 500 victory following his 2018 triumph in the iconic event. He will also chase history as he looks to equal or surpass Mario Andretti's all-time pole record as Power returns behind the wheel of the No. 12 Verizon Chevrolet.

In 2019, Power and the Verizon team finished fifth in the championship after generating two wins, three poles and six podium finishes. Highlighted by late-season victories at Pocono Raceway and Portland International Raceway, he built on his personal streak of winning at least one race each year dating back to the 2007 season.

The 2018 season proved to be historic for Power. He captured three wins and four poles to go along with eight top-five and 11 top-10 finishes. He and the No. 12 team swept the Month of May at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway as they won the INDYCAR Grand Prix on the Speedway's road course followed by the biggest victory of Power's career at the Indianapolis 500. The win represented Team Penske's 17th victory in the "Greatest Spectacle in Racing" and Power became the first Australian to claim his spot on the legendary Borg-Warner Trophy. Power closed the season ranked third in the final series standings.

The 39-year-old Power began his racing career in his native Australia competing in Formula Ford, including a Queensland state championship in 2000 and a runner-up national finish in 2001. He won the Formula Holden championship and placed second in the Australian F3 series in 2002. Power came to the United States in 2006 to compete in the Champ Car World Series and he earned Rookie-of-the-Year honors with Team Australia. He scored his first career INDYCAR win on the streets of Las Vegas in 2007.

Power joined Team Penske in 2009 - initiallly filling in for Helio Castroneves - and he collected his first victory for the team at Edmonton. Injuries suffered in a practice accident at Sonoma brought an early end to his first season with the team, but Power returned to compete for a full season with Team Penske in 2010 and he has been winning ever since.

After finishing as series runner up for three consecutive seasons, Power captured the 2014 INDYCAR SERIES championship behind three victories, seven podium finishes and four pole positions. With the title-winning performance, Power became the first Australian to win the INDYCAR crown and the first to win a major motorsports championship since 1980 when Alan Jones won the F1 title.

Power and his wife, Elizabeth, reside in Charlotte, North Carolina with their young son Beau.

Power Key Accomplishments

  • Won 2014 NTT INDYCAR Series Championship
  • Became the first Australian to win the Indianapolis 500 in 2018
  • Finished as series championship runner-up four times - 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2016
  • Earned 39 career NTT INDYCAR SERIES race victories entering 2021
  • Posted at least one INDYCAR win for 14 consecutive seasons (2007-2020)
  • Captured 62 career poles and opens the 2021 season just five poles shy Mario Andretti's INDYCAR record of 67 poles won
  • Begins his 13th season with Team Penske in 2021
  • Named as a finalist for the 2018 Sport Australia "The Don" Award for his winning performance in the Indianapolis 500
  • Nominated for the 2018 ABC Sport Best Sporting Moment at the AIS Sport Performance Awards