Penske Racing
Team Penske Media Site
Home | IndyCar Records | Team Penske Championships | IndyCar Drivers | Year-By-Year Championship Finishes | Winners by Track Type | 1-2 Finishes | Victory Recap | Front Row Sweeps | Wins From Pole | Pole Recap

Team Penske Championships

Team Penske has won 44 National Championships over the past six decades across 10 different series. In addition to the three Team Penske entries in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES with Scott McLaughlin, Josef Newgarden and Will Power, in 2023 the organization fielded three cars in the NASCAR Cup Series with drivers Ryan Blaney, Austin Cindric and Joey Logano and also competed in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and the World Endurance Championship with Porsche Penske Motorsport. Team Penske has also competed in Formula 1, FIA/Endurance, FIA/F5000, the American Le Mans Series, Grand-Am, ARCA, IMSA, the Australian Supercars Championship and the NASCAR Xfinity/Busch Grand National Series.

Team Penske has won a record 17 INDYCAR SERIES titles in its history, including three consecutive championships twice, 1977–1979 and 1981–1983, and back-to-back championships in 2000-2001 and 2016-2017.

2022Will PowerVerizon 5G Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet
2019Josef NewgardenHitachi/Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet
2017Josef NewgardenHum by Verizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet
Simon Pagenaud
Hewlett-Packard Enterprise Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet
2014 Will PowerVerizon Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet
2006 Sam Hornish Jr. Marlboro Team Penske Dallara/Honda
2001 Gil de Ferran Marlboro Team Penske Reynard/Honda
2000 Gil de Ferran Marlboro Team Penske Reynard/Honda
1994 Al Unser Jr. Marlboro Penske Ilmor
1988 Danny Sullivan Miller High Life Penske PC17/Chevy
1985  Al Unser Pennzoil Z-7 March 85 C/Cosworth
1983 Al Unser   Hertz Penske PC11/Cosworth
1982  Rick Mears Gould Charge Penske PC10/Cosworth
1981 Rick Mears Gould Charge Penske PC9B/Cosworth
1979 Rick Mears Gould Charge Penske PC7/Cosworth
1978  Tom Sneva Norton Spirit Penske PC6/Cosworth
1977 Tom Sneva Norton Spirit McLaren M24/PC-5/Cosworth